Sunday, June 26, 2022

FLIX IT! Check your Netflix account NOW – “red flags” indicate if strangers have hacked your account

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


IF YOU’VE EVER shared your Netflix login credentials with family and friends, you should check your account for unwanted scammers.

Word of mouth allows a mountain of people to use your login credentials without your knowledge or consent.

Over time, dozens of people, including ex-partners, roommates, and friends of friends, can gain access to your account.

So that your generosity doesn’t become too obvious, it’s worth doing a little spring cleaning every now and then.

When you open the Netflix app or website, you’ll see a list of profiles associated with your account.

You can have up to 5 profiles on a single Netflix account. They allow you to customize and personalize your experience.

If you notice new profiles popping up unexpectedly, it could be a sign that someone has access to your account who shouldn’t

Ask those who you know have access to your credentials if they added the new profile(s).

If the answer is no, it’s time to secure your account by changing your password (more on that below).

To delete a profile, you must log into Netflix in a web browser.

Click on your profile icon and click Manage Profiles. Select the unwanted profile and click on it Extinguish.

Most Netflix freeloaders are smart enough to know that they are not allowed to create a new profile for the account.

Instead, they simply use the profiles already created to get their streaming fix for free.

One way to spot a moocher is by the “Continue Watching” and “Recommendations” carousel on your profile.

If there’s a new TV show or genre that pops up there, you might have a Netflix squatter on your hands.

If a new “because you’ve seen it” suggestion pops up for a movie or series you’ve never seen, be on high alert, too.

Again, check your circle of passwords first to make sure someone hasn’t accidentally viewed content on your profile.

Arguably the best way to check if you’ve been compromised is to take a look at your account’s view history.

This shows the date and time, location, and even the device someone was streaming from.

If you discover any that you don’t recognize, it is recommended that you secure your account.

Again, it’s worth asking your circle about any suspicious activity before logging everyone out.

It’s possible that a family member just went on vacation recently or signed in on a new device.

To check your recent devices, you need to access Netflix in a browser.

Once you’ve logged in, go to your account settings by hovering over the profile icon in the top right.

Scroll down to the “Settings” section and click on the “Recent device streaming activity” link.

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here