Monday, November 29, 2021

Who qualified for the 2022 World Cup? Full list of qualifiers for the 32-team tournament in Qatar

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Germany, Denmark and Brazil are among the first countries to secure their place at next year’s tournament in Qatar

The first qualifying phase for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar is drawing to a close, and during the international break the number of nations booking their places for the finals will increase.

The tournament, which is scheduled to take place between Monday November 21st and Sunday December 18th next year, will be the last to feature 32 teams, with that number for the 2026 World Cup, which will be held in the United States, Mexico and Canada will be extended to 48.

With 13 places for European nations, Uefa will be the most strongly represented confederation at the World Cup. The 10 group winners qualify automatically, with the last three places being decided by a play-off round with the 10 runners-up and the top two group winners of the Nations League who finished third or lower.

There are four guaranteed places for teams from CONMEBOL (South America) and three for CONCACAF (North America), with one team from both confederations competing for last place in a play-off. CAF (Africa) will have five teams and there are four guaranteed spots from AFC (Asia), with another intercontinental play-off to determine whether a fifth AFC team or a team from Oceania qualifies.

England will secure their place in the finals by avoiding losing to San Marino, the lowest-ranked team in world football, in their final qualifier. Gareth Southgate’s squad is a favorite to win after reaching the semi-finals in Russia in 2018 and finishing second at Euro 2020 in the summer.

Scotland secured a play-off spot with one game to go after beating Moldova 2-0 in the penultimate game. The Scots ended their 23-year exile in a major tournament by taking part in Euro 2020 and are hoping to qualify for a World Cup for the first time since France ’98.

Wales are also secured with a play-off spot one game to go, even if they slip to third in their group. Rob Pages’ team are second overall and face group winners Belgium in the final game, while the Czech Republic are third, three points behind. However, Wales topped their Nations League group, making sure they will play in the play-offs next March.

However, neither Northern Ireland nor the Republic of Ireland will qualify after failing to finish in their respective groups.

Qatar will make its debut in this competition after automatically qualifying as the host nation. As they have been since the 2006 World Cup in Germany, they will start the tournament as hosts in the first game.

The golf nation is currently the fifth highest team in the Asian Football Association and, according to Fifa, is ranked 46th in the world. However, Qatar barely set the world on fire ahead of the tournament, losing six of their last seven games, including 4-0 to Serbia and the Republic of Ireland.

Germany (2014 world champions) and Denmark were the next nations to qualify during the international break in October. Five-time champions Brazil became the first South Americans to qualify after beating Colombia 1-0 in November, and defending champions France will join them after winning the group.

The complete line-up with 32 teams for the World Cup will be ready by the end of March.

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here