Monday, August 8, 2022

Preview of the 21st stage of the Tour de France: route and profile of the final in Paris

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

The 2022 Tour de France concludes on Sunday with a 116km excursion to the Champs-Elysees in Paris.

The traditional Stage 21 truce means that at the end of a long, hard month, Jonas Vingegaard can enjoy the procession to the French capital alongside his Jumbo Visma teammates, and modern tradition dictates that the winning team sip champagne during the ride drinks.

They could well have a headache from Saturday’s celebrations after sealing the yellow jersey in style and claiming a one-two in the Stage 20 individual time trial, with Wout van Aert’s green jersey leading teammate Vingegaard to victory.

It was a sensational Tour for both riders and Van Aert will be looking to claim his fourth stage win of the race when the pack arrives on the Champs-Elysees for a typical bunch sprint on Sunday afternoon.

The Belgian superstar may be the favorite for this race but he will face competition from the sprinters who have fought their way through the Alps and Pyrenees to get to this point, all desperate to win the prestigious Paris stage. Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal), Fabio Jakobsen (QuickStep), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin) and Dylan Groenewegen (BikeEchange) are among those hoping to challenge.

Geraint Thomas will head to Paris to confirm the third podium finish of his Tour de France career, the dethroned Tadej Pogacar will win the young rider’s white jersey and Vingegaard will collect the polka dot yellow jersey after his efforts at the Tour In den Pyrenees, he rose to the top of the “King of the Mountains” classification.

This year’s Tour de France coverage can be found on ITV4, Eurosport, Discovery+ and GCN+ (Global Cycling Network).

Every day live races are shown on ITV4 before the highlights, usually at 19:00 every day. The ITV website lists the times here.

Eurosport and GCN+ show every minute of every stage. More on Eurosport coverage here and GCN+ coverage here.

It will also be shown on Eurosport’s Discovery+ streaming service, with broadcast details here.

1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo Visma) 76 hrs 33’57”

2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) +3’34”

3. Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) +8’13”

4. David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ) +13’56”

5. Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) +16’37”

6. Nairo Qiuntana (Team Arkea-Samsic) +17’24”

7. Romain Bardet (Team DSM) +19’02”

8. Louis Meintjes (Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materials) +19’12”

9. Alexey Lutsenko (Team Astana Kazakhstan) +23’47”

10. Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers) +25’43”

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here