Monday, August 8, 2022

The statistics & background on Vitali Klitschko

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Vitali Klitschko, Hall of Fame boxer and mayor of Kyiv, is 6’7”. He is 50 years old and weighs 250 pounds, according to CA Knowledge.

ESPN announced on Tuesday, July 19 that Klitschko “will be honored with the Arthur Ashe Courage Award at ESPYS 2022 on July 20 in Los Angeles (8 p.m. ET, ABC).”

In addition to his impressive size, Klitschko has a long and interesting CV. He has been the mayor of the capital of Ukraine since 2014. According to ESPN, he and his brother “developed their boxing skills in the Soviet amateur system. Both are considered great heavyweights of all time. Known for his granite jawline and unwavering toughness, Vitali enjoyed two heavyweight title reigns.”

Klitschko told ESPN, “It is a great honor for me to receive this award.” bravely resisted for three months. This is an award for everyone who defends the independence and freedom of Ukraine.”

While most boxers are known for the fights they win, ESPN explains that Klitschko is best known for a fight he lost. The fight took place in 2003 against fellow heavyweight Lennox Lewis. The two vied for the heavyweight championship, with Klitschko scheduled as the underdog. ESPN reports that Klitschko was “leading on all three scorecards when the fight was stopped due to a gruesome cut above his left eye that required 60 stitches.”

Unfortunately, although the boxers wanted a rematch, it never materialized because Lewis quit. However, the Ukrainian still earned the title of heavyweight champion in 2004 after “an eight-round TKO by Corrie Sanders,” the outlet explains.

There’s a reason why Klitschko is so honored to receive the Arthur Ashe award. As ESPN explains, it is “one of the most prestigious in esports. The recipients reflect the spirit of Arthur Ashe, possessing strength in the face of adversity, courage in the face of danger and a willingness to stand up for their beliefs at all costs.”

The award was first presented to basketball coach Jim Valvano, better known as Jimmy V, in 1993. According to the Los Angeles Times, “Valvano brought a teary-eyed, howling Madison Square Garden to its feet with a heartbreaking speech at the inaugural ESPY awards show.”

Here’s the full list of winners of the award since its inception from The Sporting News.

winner of the year

2022 Vitaly Klitschko

2021 Maya Moore

2020 Kevin love

2019 Bill Russell

2018 “Sister Survivors” of the US Gymnastics sex abuse scandal

2017 Eunice Kennedy Shriver

2016 Zaevion Dobson

2015 CaitlynJenner

2014 Michael Sam

2013Robin Roberts

2012 Pat Summitt

2011 Dewey Bozella

2010 Ed Thomas

2009 Nelson Mandela

2008 Tommie Smith and John Carlos

2007 Trevor Ringland and David Cullen

2006 Roia Ahmad and Shamila Kohestani

2005 Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah and Jim MacLaren

2004 George Weah

2003 Pat and Kevin Tillman

- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here